How to work on a translation task (team projects)

How to work on a translation task that is assigned to you by a co-worker.

Navigate to My Tasks from the dashboard.

My Tasks page contains a list of all tasks that are assigned to you. Click the Open button to open a specific task.

In the task overview, click Accept.

In the task overview (screenshot below) you can:

  1. Access reference files
  2. Access project instructions
  3. Access project Glossary


In the Glossary you can translate important terminology for your project (some terms may be automatically translated from a terminology repository, which stores glossaries from earlier projects).

 Click  the Translate button to start working on a particular package.

Good to know

In TextUnited a package usually contains the content of just one file. In the case of a larger file, its content is split in more packages. The system does this to make it easier to organize your translation work (one package is more or less a day of work). Additionally, browsers handle smaller chunks of content faster, so it is more comfortable for you to translate online.

The Translation Editor

Using the editor is easy: provide/edit translations in the right-hand column. For each segment, there are six features:

  1. Insert Tag. The button will only appear in segments containing formatting tags. Use it to insert tags one by one in the correct order.
  2. Copy Source to Target. The button will copy the source text (including tags) into your current open segment so you can edit it. It is sometimes handy to overwrite existing translations with the source text.
  3. Segment link. The option will allow you to copy a direct link for the segment, which you can share with other team members. Only users with access to the project can open the link.
  4. Machine translate. Use machine translation to get the first draft of a translation. Please improve it by making the necessary edits!
  5. Upload a reference image. Sometimes, you would like to share a screenshot with other translators or a project manager. Choose a file to upload after clicking this icon. 
  6. Save the current segment and open the next one. By clicking the icon, you save the translation in the current segment, and move to the next one which requires translation.


The translation memory proposals

Are pulled from a translation memory, which contains previously translated segments. Translations of identical source segments (100% matches) will be automatically placed in target segments. You can see the match level if a source sentence in the translation memory is similar. You can insert such an imperfect proposal and edit it.

The Terminology proposals

The Online Editor displays terminology to use during translation and shows prohibited terms (so you know how not to translate them).

The Online Editor contains terminology from two sources:

  1. The first source is the terminology repository which contains all the terms from all previous translations. These terms are mostly checked and approved (or rejected) already.
  2. The second source is the project's glossary. The glossary contains only the terminology translated by a translator or proofreader during the current project. It is, therefore (in most cases) yet to be finally confirmed.

Suppose the translation of a term in the glossary differs from the translation in a terminology repository. In that case, a translator/proofreader should leave a comment or check the issue with a co-worker who created a project.

Important! Tags

The yellow icons, which you can sometimes see in the source segments, are called tags.

Tags contain information about the formatting and structure of your document. With this information, TextUnited can rebuild the original document in its initial format but with translated content!

Therefore, keeping tags in the right place when translating is essential.

Finishing translation

Ensure all segments have been confirmed and run a QA check from the Translation Editor menu before finishing a translation task.

After translating all packages, navigate to the Task overview by clicking on the 'back' button in the left corner of the Translation Editor.

Click COMPLETE THE TASK to notify the co-worker who sent you the task that the translation is ready.